Skip to content

An Introduction to Padma Vibhushan Awards

An Introduction to Padma Vibhushan Awards cover

The Padma Vibhushan Awards hold a significant place in India's prestigious civilian honors. Established in 1954, these awards recognize exceptional contributions and achievements in various fields, including art, literature, science, sports, and public service. With its rich history and immense importance, the Padma Vibhushan Awards continue to inspire and honor individuals who have made remarkable contributions to the nation.

A Brief History

The Padma Vibhushan Awards were instituted by the Government of India to acknowledge outstanding accomplishments across different domains. The name "Padma Vibhushan" translates to "Lotus Decoration of Honor" in English. The lotus symbolizes purity and enlightenment and is considered a sacred flower in Indian culture.

Initially, there were only three categories of Padma Awards: Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri. However, in 2019, the government introduced a new category called "Padma Awards for Eco-Achievements," which focuses on recognizing individuals who have contributed significantly to environmental conservation efforts.

Significance and Prestige

The Padma Vibhushan Award holds immense prestige due to its stringent selection criteria and the caliber of recipients it attracts. It is considered the second-highest civilian award after the Bharat Ratna Award. The award recognizes not only excellence but also sustained commitment towards creating a positive impact on society.

Recipients of this prestigious award include luminaries from various fields such as science, literature, arts, sports, medicine, social work, public service, and more. Each recipient's journey serves as an inspiration for future generations to strive for excellence and contribute meaningfully to their respective fields.

Selection Process

The selection process for the Padma Vibhushan Award involves multiple stages of evaluation conducted by committees comprising eminent personalities from respective fields. The committees meticulously review nominations and recommendations, ensuring that the recipients truly deserve this honor.

The criteria for selection include exceptional achievements, contributions, and impact within the nominee's field of expertise. The award recognizes individuals who have consistently pushed boundaries, inspired others, and made a lasting difference to society.


The Padma Vibhushan Awards stand as a testament to India's rich cultural heritage and commitment to recognizing excellence. These awards not only celebrate outstanding accomplishments but also serve as a reminder of the potential within each individual to make a significant impact on society.

As we honor the recipients of the Padma Vibhushan Awards, let us draw inspiration from their remarkable journeys and strive to create a better future for ourselves and generations to come.