Skip to content

An Introduction to Kirti Chakra Award

An Introduction to Kirti Chakra Award cover

The Kirti Chakra is a prestigious civilian or gallantry award in India. It is bestowed upon individuals who have displayed exceptional courage and bravery in the face of adversity. In this blog post, we will delve into the significance of the Kirti Chakra and shed light on its history and criteria for selection.

Understanding the Significance

The Kirti Chakra holds immense importance in recognizing acts of valor and selflessness. It serves as a symbol of honor and appreciation for those who go above and beyond the call of duty to protect their fellow citizens and uphold the values of our nation.

History of the Kirti Chakra

Established on 4th January 1952, the Kirti Chakra was initially known as the Ashoka Chakra Class II. However, it was renamed as Kirti Chakra in September 1967. The award draws its inspiration from the ancient Indian symbol "Kirtimukha," which represents glory and fame.

Criteria for Selection

The Kirti Chakra is awarded to both civilians and military personnel for their extraordinary acts of bravery during times of conflict or peacekeeping operations. The selection process involves a thorough evaluation by a committee comprising high-ranking officials from various government departments.

To be eligible for this prestigious honor, individuals must have displayed exceptional courage, determination, and selflessness while facing grave danger or saving lives. Their actions should demonstrate an unwavering commitment to protecting national interests and upholding peace.

Notable Recipients

Over the years, numerous individuals have been honored with the Kirti Chakra for their remarkable acts of bravery. Some notable recipients include Major Sandeep Unnikrishnan, who sacrificed his life during the 2008 Mumbai attacks, Havildar Hangpan Dada, who single-handedly eliminated four terrorists before succumbing to his injuries, and Neerja Bhanot, a flight attendant who saved hundreds of lives during the hijacking of Pan Am Flight 73.


The Kirti Chakra is a prestigious award that recognizes extraordinary acts of courage and bravery. It serves as a testament to the indomitable spirit of individuals who put their lives on the line to protect others. Through this blog post, we hope to shed light on the significance of this award and honor those who have been bestowed with it. Their stories inspire us all to be brave, selfless, and committed to serving our nation.

So next time you come across someone wearing the Kirti Chakra, remember the immense sacrifices they have made and the unwavering courage they have displayed.