Skip to content

Bravery or Gallantary Awards for Civilians in India

Bravery or Gallantary Awards for Civilians in India cover

In India, there are several prestigious awards that recognize the exceptional acts of bravery and gallantry displayed by civilians. These awards are sponsored by various states, organizations, and the Government of India itself. They serve as a testament to the courage and selflessness exhibited by individuals who risk their lives to save others or demonstrate extraordinary bravery in challenging situations.

The Ashoka Chakra

The Ashoka Chakra is one of the highest peacetime gallantry awards conferred upon civilians in India. It is awarded for acts of valor, courage, and self-sacrifice in the face of grave danger. This award holds immense significance and is considered equivalent to the military's Param Vir Chakra.

The Kirti Chakra

The Kirti Chakra is another prestigious civilian gallantry award bestowed upon individuals who display conspicuous bravery and daring acts. It recognizes acts of valor that are not necessarily performed under direct enemy fire but still involve risking one's life for the welfare of others.

The Shaurya Chakra

The Shaurya Chakra is awarded to civilians who exhibit gallantry while involved in counter-insurgency operations against terrorists or anti-national elements. This award acknowledges their exceptional courage and determination in combating terrorism and safeguarding national security.

State-Level Bravery Awards

Apart from national-level awards, several states also have their own bravery awards to honor courageous civilians within their jurisdiction. These awards vary from state to state but share the common goal of recognizing outstanding acts of bravery performed by individuals.

Organizational Bravery Awards

Many organizations across India also sponsor bravery awards to acknowledge acts of heroism within their respective fields or industries. These awards aim to inspire others and create awareness about the importance of bravery and selflessness in society.

Importance and Impact

These bravery and gallantry awards play a vital role in acknowledging individuals who go above and beyond the call of duty, often risking their own lives to save others. By recognizing and honoring their courage, these awards not only inspire others but also create a sense of pride and gratitude within the nation.

The recipients of these awards become role models for future generations, showcasing the values of bravery, selflessness, and compassion. Their stories serve as a reminder that ordinary individuals can make an extraordinary difference when faced with challenging circumstances.


Bravery and gallantry awards for civilians in India are a testament to the indomitable spirit of its people. These awards recognize acts of exceptional courage and selflessness, inspiring others to emulate these qualities in their own lives. Whether sponsored by states, organizations, or the Government of India itself, these awards symbolize the importance of bravery and honor those who exemplify it. Through their actions, these brave individuals remind us all that heroism knows no boundaries and can be found within anyone willing to stand up for what is right.